Rep. Mike Rogers, R-Ala., ranking member of the House Homeland Security Committee, announced updated Republican subcommittee assignments on Oct. 25. Among the changes, Rep. John Joyce, R-Pa., will join the Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Innovation Subcommittee.

“As the medical field faces new cybersecurity threats, from intellectual property theft to hospitals facing ransomware attacks, Rep. Joyce’s experience as a doctor will be particularly beneficial. I’m happy to have him join the Cybersecurity Subcommittee” Rogers said.

Republican representatives assigned to the Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Innovation are Ranking Member John Katko, R-N.Y., Mark Walker, R-N.C., Van Taylor, R-Texas, and Rep. Joyce.

Rogers also announced that Rep. Dan Bishop, R-N.C., will join the Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Recovery and the Transportation and Maritime Security Subcommittees.

“Rep. Bishop represents North Carolina, which faces frequent threats from hurricanes. Dan will provide valuable perspective to the Emergency Preparedness Subcommittee,” Rogers said. “I am also pleased to welcome him to the Transportation Security Subcommittee, which is tasked with keeping all avenues of U.S. transportation secure from threats from around the globe.”

The Republican representatives on the Subcommittee on Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Recovery are Ranking Member Peter T. King, R-N.Y., Dan Crenshaw, R-Texas, Michael Guest, R-Miss., and Rep. Bishop.

Read More About
More Topics
Kate Polit
Kate Polit
Kate Polit is MeriTalk's Assistant Copy & Production Editor covering the intersection of government and technology.