Four U.S. organizations were recently named the 2016 recipients of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award–the nation’s highest presidential honor for sustainable excellence through visionary leadership, organizational alignment, systemic improvement, and innovation.

The Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987, and is managed by the Commerce Department’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in cooperation with the private sector. The Baldrige Program raises awareness about the importance of performance excellence in driving the U.S. and global economy; provides organizational assessments, training, tools, and criteria; educates leaders in businesses, schools, health care organizations, government, and nonprofit organizations; and shares the best practices of national role models.

The 2016 award recipients are:

“This year’s honorees are trailblazers in innovation, small business, health care, and sustainable textiles,” said U.S. Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker. “Their visionary leadership is helping to power the economy and increase our ability to compete globally. The Commerce Department proudly supports these four outstanding organizations for their unwavering commitment to performance excellence and their dedication to always reaching higher.”

Learn more in the press release.

Read More About
More Topics
Kara Burns
Kara Burns
Kara Burns is a Staff Reporter for MeriTalk covering Federal IT.